top of page

Moving, Australia Day & Back to School

Updated: Mar 28, 2019

Hi ya! I'm here again, telling you about my life in Australia. This is just another casual update about the past few weeks.

 

After I'd recovered from my holiday travels all over Australia, it was time to get back to my daily life. Soon it was time for quite a big change in my life as an exchange student... But before I get into all that, for the first couple of days I was back, I was unpacking, seeing friends and just organising stuff. On Friday night Linda, Gerard and I went to the cinema to see A Star Is Born. It was a really good movie, and afterwards we had dinner out in a nice and cozy wood-fire pizza restaurant.


On Sunday the 20th of January I changed homestay. The reason for this change was that my school wanted to place another student in the family I was staying at, and so I couldn't stay anymore. So the choice wasn't really mine or my homestay's, but the school's. Luckily the school had found me a really nice new family that I could move to. So on Sunday, some time after lunch I had all of my things packed and ready for when Charlie and Belinda came to pick me up from the house. I said bye to Linda and Gerard and hopped in the car.


So now I live in Clear Island Waters instead of Mermaid Waters but the two aren't too far away from each other. We got to my new home, they showed me around, and I met Christina and Tui.


A little bit more about my new family, my host-mum Belinda and host-dad Charlie are from New Zealand and they've lived in Australia for about six years. Christina is my Austrian host-sister, who also came to Australia in July and is staying until July too. She's been living with Belinda and Charlie the whole time. And then there's Tui, their 11-year-old black Labrador and she's very sweet too :3 They live in a nice two-storey house about a twenty five-minute walk away from the school. The neighbourhood is nice, but the only downside is that the bus stop is fifteen minutes away.


I put my stuff upstairs and then we all (Tui included) left the house for a swim on the beach. We stayed on the beach for about an hour and then drove back home. For the rest of the evening I was just unpacking, we had dinner and watched TV before going to bed.


On Monday Christina and I went to the beach in the afternoon, but before that we stopped at Goji Granola Bar & Cafe. We sat on the beach for a while and then took the bus back. I was already feeling really at home.


Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday were very relaxed and nothing out of the ordinary.


On Saturday pretty much all of the internationals were in Burleigh to spend Australia Day together. Belinda and Charlie had been invited to visit some friends so they spent the day somewhere in the Queensland country side. But our Australia Day was really nice, we had bought some snacks and just chilled in the park talking and listening to music for pretty much the whole day. We also got to meet some new internationals which was really nice.


Sunday and Monday were pretty chill, I was in Burleigh and I also had to get some school supplies for the new semester.


Tuesday 29th was supposedly the first day of school, so I got up early, and was at school at 7.50am only to find out that I didn't actually have to be there. We had gotten two messages the previous day that school would start at 7.50 Tuesday morning. However, this wasn't the case, so we (Anna, Chiara, Sara and I) sat at a table infront of the B-block eating our lunches while the passing teachers wondered what we were doing there and told us to go home because school didn't start until tomorrow. So after waking up for nothing, we decided that since it was a nice day we would go to Burleigh.


Wednesday was actually the first day of school, so this time there was actually something to do. The very first thing was an assembly at the school hall, where we got our timetables and senior diaries. Then after phoenix class I had English and maths. For sport that afternoon we had water safety stuff in the pool. It was a fun day and we got lots of new internationals in our class.


So this year I have all of the same subjects as last year, just some new teachers, but really mostly old ones.


Thursday all of us internationals had a water safety excursion, so in the morning we met at B1 and then drove to Burleigh with a school bus. We walked through Burleigh Hill national park all the way to Tally, where we stopped for a swim. We had to do different exercises in the water. Then we walked to another beach where a lifeguard told us all about water safety. Then we walked back to Tally creek and had lunch and went for another swim before heading back to the school. After the excursion, I had to go to pacfair again because my phone camera wasn't working. Luckily my phone could be fixed and I took the bus home.


The week had gone by pretty quickly and it was already Friday. Friday was the first normal day of school for me, and I had aquatics, English, biology and maths. After school I went home and then left the house again around five, to go for dinner with friends at Beleza.


Saturday I had arranged a kite surfing lesson in Southport for that afternoon, but unfortunately the wind wasn't good when I got there so we had to cancel. Later in the day I went to Burleigh with friends, and we had dinner out.


My Sunday was pretty chilled, I did some laundry, we went for a short walk with Tui aaand that was pretty much it.


Today I haven't really done anything either, just some necessary productive stuff, like tidying up my room, some planning and then now just typing up this blog post.

(this was just today's breakfast which i thought looked pretty cute)

 

Sooo yeah, that's pretty much what I've been up to the last two weeks of January. Though this one was quite the step-down from the crazy adventure posts I hope you enjoyed it anyway. Have a good week and I'll keep updating the blog.


xx

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page